top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEli Regan

Dawn Mander - Women in Photography


Dawn Mander

Dawn Mander is a documentary photographer from Blackpool. She has been photographing since the 1970s and she likes the tradition of the candid photograph where expressions are natural and she goes undetected.


Dawn has been nominated for the RPS 100 Heroines and enjoys the community aspect of photographers on social media including regular interactions with acclaimed Small Town Inertia photographer Jim Mortram. Through social media, her work has reached a wider audience and Dawn has been exhibited internationally in Germany, Canada and Italy.


Her instinct for community sees her promote others through her platform Arrested Redevelopment pairing artists and small businesses and creating new opportunities for exhibition spaces.


How did you first come to Photography?



From Portrait of Blackpool by Dawn Mander

I have always loved photography and started taking photographs as a hobby when I was travelling around the world with a theatre and dance company in the 70s. I have been very lucky to visit some wonderful countries and interact with incredible cultures, influencing my love of documentary and street photography.


What is it that inspires you about Blackpool and its streets?



From Portrait of Blackpool by Dawn Mander

I am a born and bred Sandgrown'un and Blackpool is always a magical place for me. The town is often derided but I find Blackpool to be full of charm with some great life stories and characters. The unsuspecting public are just waiting to be captured by my camera.


Who are the people currently photographing that inspire you in this industry?



The Happy Haddock by Dawn Mander

I want to avoid going down the path of mentioning the greats like William Eggleston, Stephen Shore, Tish Murtha etc because obviously they inspire most photographers. However, two photographers I admire and who really inspire me are Marianne Van Loo and Becky Frances. There's also a local young man, Ryan Green, who is new to photography, only works with analogue cameras and has produced work that I wish I had taken!


Do you feel the dialogue around Photography is important – ie conferences such as the ones held in Preston – UCLAN?


Yes I do think dialogue and sharing ideas and projects is very important. They allow you to find like- minded people and inspiration while discovering other photographers you may not already be aware of.


What recent exhibition or photo book has inspired you?


The 2018 New Brighton Revisited exhibition by Martin Parr, Ken Grant and Tom Wood in New Brighton was a fabulous occasion to see and meet three contemporary great social documentary photographers.


Although first published in 2008, Ray Potes' book Hamburger Eyes, is completely new to me. This collection of photographs has made me want to get out on the streets as soon as possible.


Is social media a force for good in the Photography community?



Burger Bar by Dawn Mander

I personally find it's been a great way to get my work out to the public as I don't work on commission. Social media has enabled me to be internationally published and exhibited, notably in Germany and Canada and more recently Italy. Images from my ongoing photography/video documentary project Blackpool , 40SecondsStreet were used by Virgin trains to promote trains to Blackpool and I have had images featured on a book cover and album cover insert. It's thanks to social media that I was nominated for RPS Hundred Heroines for my documentary photography of a local soup kitchen which resulted in an exhibition and online publication.


What photographic projects/collaborations are you currently involved in?


I am presently working on ongoing social docustreet project 40SecondsStreet and am also involved in curating and promoting through art group Arrested Redevelopment, supporting local artists to promote and exhibit in small local businesses.

376 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page